• 3 Post By GCFishguy
  • 4 Post By Purple
  • 8 Post By RockyTFS
  • 3 Post By Tweaker
  • 1 Post By drstimpy
  • 1 Post By socalnative

Thread: Downshifting....noob questions

Downshifting....noob questions

Okay, so never having rode a motorcycle before (before the TW), I'm pretty much self-taught...aside from the safety course.
    And given that I don't ride with anybody, and the local dual sport club is Husky's and KTMs and hare scrambles and so on, I wouldn't really fit in there. My style is taking it easy, seeing where that trail leads, just enjoying the outdoors.

Anyway....I wanted to ask about downshifting, mostly on the street. Driving around in town, should I be downshifting gear by gear, or if I'm coming up to a red light and know I'm stopping, just coast up to it and click down through the gears as I'm about to come to a stop?

I know not to use 1st to slow down (way too low)....but I'm just kind of curious if you go from 3rd to 2nd to 1st in the last few feet before stopping, or what?
    Ken, Tuber and cowboyjeff like this.

Ken
    I usually just let off the gas drop one gear and coast. If I need to be stopping a little more I will let the clutch on out. I then just tap the shifter the rest of the way down before a full stop. Generally the engine won't actually rev when dropping a gear once you get used to it.

When you know you’re coming to a stop, downshift while the wheels are still turning or the gearbox can get “sticky” – try to let the clutch out in each gear (if the bike throws or “lurches” you forwards towards the bars, you downshifted a little early)

When downshifting on the open road, it’s more to do with keeping the bike in an appropriate gear for the speed – eg not revving too high or too low

There are no hard and fast rules on any of this, it’s a matter of personal preference – but when downshifting for a stop there are two things to consider ….